How to Manage Homework…

I am not a huge fan of homework, but my students need to practice the skills we work on in class and prepare for middle school expectations, so I give homework Monday through Thursday each week.

I copy a page of reading comprehension (a passage and some questions) and a page of math (no more than 15 problems) for homework each day. The sheets I choose are designed to give students a chance to practice skills.

Each day students turn their homework in using a Homework Folder. It is a letter-sized manila folder. On the folder there are dates written for each week of the quarter. Students get a sticker (they love stinky stickers) every day they bring their homework back.

homeworkfoders

Even if students forget their homework, they always have the chance to turn it in and get a sticker.  I simply place the sticker over top of the “No HW” or “Ab.” note that I wrote for a particular day.   I allow students up to the last day of the quarter to turn in any homework packets for the quarter.

At the end of the quarter, I figure out how many total stickers were possible and I assign homework grades based on the percentage of homework students turned in.

How do you do homework?  Tell me about it in the comments!

008

 

 

007

I have found that students will do their homework more frequently when they have that daily reminder of how much homework they have turned in.  They want the entire folder to be full of stickers by the end of the quarter.  The folders are also a great visual for parents.  They can see how much homework was done for the quarter.  I give students their folders to keep at the end of the quarter (usually during conferences).  I had 30 students in my class last year and almost all of them did 95% or more homework every quarter and I think these folders had a lot to do with it!

5 thoughts on “How to Manage Homework…

  1. I love this idea! I share the same philosophy about homework, and this is a great solution. I love the idea of positive reinforcement, the visual aspect of the stickers, and giving students lots of opportunities to make up missed assignments. It sounds like a win-win! Thanks for sharing!
    -Amy Marie

  2. I love this idea. My classroom behavior chart has Green-Ready to learn and in the past my students come up with the consequences that will move their behavior stick up and down the chart. Not doing homework has always been a “not ready to learn” so a stick was dropped. For most students it did not motivate the kiddos, I will try this instead and see. Thanks
    Veronica

Leave a Reply

