Using MAD LIBS to Teach Parts of Speech

I am a child of the 70’s and 80’s and I still love MAD LIBS!  As I was doing some Mad Libs with my own children I realized that they would be a great resource to use in my own classroom and they are really inexpensive!  I bought an assortment of Mad Libs pads from Amazon and we use them 1-2 times a week in our classroom.  Click here for the link to Mad Libs on Amazon.

madlibs

 

These quick sheets get students identifying and writing adjectives, nouns, verbs, adverbs, etc. in a fun and creative way!  After about a month, my students work on making their own MAD LIB stories to use in our classroom.  While it may seem easy, it is really pretty challenging!

Students work in pairs or as a table group to complete the Mad Libs and once we are finished, a few groups/pairs share them with the class.  We hang them up on a bulletin board in the classroom so students can read them!

Leave a Reply

