First Year Teacher Tips and Resources

firstyearteacherpost

These days, new teachers are leaving the field at a rate of 50% – decreasing the teacher population while the student population increases. Brian and Eric of Wise Guys have used their combined experience of 40 years in the classroom to help tackle that problem, by writing an e-book to motivate new teachers along with creating a large resource guide to equip new teachers with the tools they need for success. They also created a free ebook for more established teachers to start this new school year off strong.

I remember what it was like as a new teacher.  I received my grade level and location assignment just two days before school started and I was immediately overwhelmed.  I was going to be a 5th grade teacher (thank goodness this grade ended up being my niche).  I walked into an empty classroom, just tables and chairs and a teacher desk.  We had no textbooks at the time because we were a Literacy Collaborative school.  I started putting up bulletin boards and making the room as colorful as a could.  I had little time to plan anything detailed before the students arrived, so it was a fly by the seat of my pants kind of year.  I had 34 students, and I loved every one of those kids immensely!  I rarely left before 9pm each night and slowly, but surely I started getting my feet underneath me.  I was on my own that year (no team to speak of), but I did learn to stand on my own two feet.  I fell in love with teaching and have never looked back.

I admire anyone who answers the call to be a teacher.  Even after 20 years as a teacher, I LOVE MY JOB!  I am the luckiest person on the planet.  I have been in four different buildings and I have learned a lot in each one and I still have a lot more to learn.

My tip for first year teachers:  Give yourself a chance to be successful!  Get organized and try lots of different things to see what will work for you and your students.  Check out Pinterest and other sources for ideas.

To celebrate the launch of The First Year Teacher Ebook and Resource Guide, Wise Guys are giving away $100 in gift cards to Teachers Pay Teachers plus copies of the book and guide! If you know anyone who is new to this profession, let them know about this giveaway too! For more inspirational stories, head on over to the Guys’ blog to get linked to others’ First Year Teacher reflections at http://www.creativityinthemodernclassroom.com/

Links to check out…

Free ebook: http://eepurl.com/1lyfj

The First Year Teacher Ebook: https://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Product/The-First-Year-Teacher-eBook-1912438

The First Year Teacher Resource Guide: https://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Product/The-First-Year-Teacher-Resource-Guide-1912322

Brian & Eric’s blog post about this: http://wp.me/p5yRg9-p8

Have a great school year!

One thought on “First Year Teacher Tips and Resources

Leave a Reply

