New Use for Picture Books!

I don’t know about you, but I have a lot of picture books in my classroom and around my house that don’t get that much use anymore.  But, I found a GREAT way to use them!  I stumbled across this fantastically creative book on the Scholastic site.

battlebunnycover

This funny little book is really quite original and amazing.  It is an edited picture book, with added pictures, words, side bars, etc.  The pages look like this:

1Battle-Bunny_3_8_13-int-6

So, I gave my students some unused and no longer loved picture books from my own kid’s collection and then bought a few more from the used bookstore in my neighborhood. Today, each student got a black sharpie marker and a book.  I can’t wait to see what they come up with tomorrow!  You can get your own copy of the book, Battle Bunny, here.

Why not let your students upgrade some picture books?

Leave a Reply

